RSS

When I Grow Up

14 Oct

I wanted to be a vet when I was 6, my teacher told me I had to put my hand up cows bums

I didn’t become a vet

I wanted to be a racing driver at 9, my dad put me on a roller coaster ride

I didn’t become a racing driver

I wanted to be a model at 12, the agencies said I was too short… Too fat… Too plain Jane

I didn’t become a model

I wanted to be a musician at 16, they chewed me up, ripped my passion out and hung me out to dry

Just hung me out to dry

I don’t know who I am or what I want to be at 33, I’m just me, let’s see who can fade that dream…

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “When I Grow Up

  1. David Archer

    October 14, 2011 at 10:32 am

    “let’s see who can fade that dream…” is a wonderful collection.

    So melancholic for one so young.

    Dave

     
  2. Neeks

    October 14, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Word hard, follow your dreams (safely), and to heck with the naysayers. Let them later say they knew you when. No one can make you feel bad about yourself if you don’t let them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
