RSS

Local

12 Oct

I followed him up the road, staggering slightly from a day of ‘sin’ down the local. It was a new local, new people, new town, same old music on the jukebox. He was one of the new people and I am sure it was a ‘he said, she said’ moment when our eyes met across the bar.

A half turned to another pint, I fitted into the stool like it was made for my ass, the same ass that crashed to the floor on the way home. He reached, and missed, but proceeded to lift me up from the wet path, sudden arm round waist to steady my soul. Magnets on my back.

A T.V. show, that was it, that’s how we started talking, the landlord handing me a free half of ale to test. Why own a pub when you hate the drink landlord? It was like toffee apples and Autumn, then everyone moaned about the weather and how everything is out of sync, then I synced back to him, and his eyes. They were browns of stained old wood and fireplaces. Warm to the touch. Like lit matches and elastic bands.

Now, which way’s home.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Local

  1. morning

    October 12, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    fun one…

    love the wood, fireplace, and experiences inside the story.

     
  2. halfwaybetweenthegutter

    October 12, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    I love to know if this is based on real experience or not; the scene is presented to the reader so well. I especially like the line about the landlord not liking drink; I think we all do things at times which we don’t like.

     
    • Scarlet DeBloyce

      October 12, 2011 at 7:12 pm

      More an elaboration of a scene I found myself in a few nights back sparked the imagination to take it further. ๐Ÿ˜‰

       
  3. terri0729

    October 12, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    I love reading all of these different takes on the prompt! Very nicely done too! God bless, Terri

     
  4. Bones

    October 12, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    Jesus this is goood stuff… I need to check in more often ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • Scarlet DeBloyce

      October 13, 2011 at 8:05 am

      Cheers dude! Getting into the swing of writing now.

       
  5. charlesmashburn

    October 13, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Very vivid write. Nicely done!

     
  6. Reflections

    October 13, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Gently explores the new, yet very much the same scenario as in any other city, any other place. A bit inquisitive tho. Nice.

     
  7. keiths ramblings

    October 13, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    As an ex landlord this piece had extra resonance for me. Really descriptive and a great read.

     
  8. zongrik

    October 13, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    “a half turned into a pin” isn’t that how it always goees

    http://zongrik.wordpress.com/2011/10/13/son/

     
  9. Kristen Haskell

    October 13, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    It reminds me of someone and in a way that is good and bad. If you know what I mean. Interesting writing.

     
  10. The Noiseless Cuckooclock

    October 13, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    skillful story telling, vivid imagery.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  11. hypercryptical

    October 15, 2011 at 2:27 am

    My you are a fine writer – I will visit here more often. Scanned your previous posts and am filled with admiration.

    Anna :o]

    PS WordPress account includes http://puzzelicious.blogspot.com

     
    • Scarlet DeBloyce

      October 15, 2011 at 9:51 am

      Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  12. Sarah Johnston

    October 18, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    so nicely done and the different takes are this prompt is so interesting
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/17/to-my-son/

     
  13. Guilie

    October 21, 2011 at 12:31 am

    Love your use of language–so familiar, like we’re hearing you talk. Well done, and I’ll certainly be back for more.

     
  14. e.a.s. demers

    October 21, 2011 at 1:49 am

    Some vivid imagery here… well done!

     

Leave a Reply

 
